About Salt

Imaginative life. More flavour.

Welcome to Salt. Celebrating our seventeenth year of independent publishing.

Over the past year we have been winners of the 2015 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, the 2015 Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize and the 2015 Polari First Book Prize.

We have been shortlisted for the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award 2016, The East Midlands Book Awards 2016, 2015 Guardian Not the Booker Prize, the 2015 Edge Hill Short Story Prize and the 2015 Wales Book of the Year.

We have had a top 10 debut fiction title for 2015 in the Independent. Nicholas Lezard’s best paperbacks of 2015. The Reading Agency, Staff Picks, Books of 2015. ELLE Best Books of 2015. A Guardian Top Teen Read of 2015. Wales Arts Review Highlights 2015. Esquire 50 Novels All Men Should Have Read. Irish Independent: Irish writers top reads of 2015.

We have been nominated (twice) for the 2016 Dublin Literary Award.

The Good Son by Paul McVeigh is the City Reads 2016 title in Brighton and Hove and will feature in the Brighton Festival.

The Redemption of Galen Pike by Carys Davies is a 2016 Regional Read, touring a range of major cities in the North of England.

Who are We?

Salt was founded in 1999 and our current administrative base lies in Cromer on the North Norfolk Coast — we don't have offices, so that we can focus all our money on effectively publishing more books.

Since the beginning of the new millennium we have published over 1,000 books in the UK and sold them internationally.

Initially focussing on international poetry in English and in translation, we now concentrate on contemporary fiction.


Our small dedicated editorial team are based throughout the UK and work with authors from around the world. We pay particular attention to finding new talent and publish many debut novels each year — but our list includes writers at all stages of their careers. The only stipulation is that the book must be a fantastic read: entertaining, impeccably written and unforgettable. We also work with a small team of translators on our groundbreaking series of Latin American poetry, part of our Earthworks series that supports the writing of indigenous peoples in the Americas. Our submissions page is here.


Our books have had considerable success with literary prizes, being shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the National Book Awards, winning the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize twice and winning the International Frank O'Connor Short Story Award. Additionally, we have won the Polari First Book Prize twice.

Our poetry books have been frequently shortlisted in the Forward Prizes. Two of our authors have won the CLPE Children's Poetry Award. We won an American Book Award for our publishing of Native American literature in the USA. Three of our poets are Next Generation poets, selected by the Poetry Book Society.

We have had wide success winning many prizes in the Australian Premiers’ Awards, and have had shortlistings in the Wales Book of the Year, the Scottish Book of the Year and the Edge Hill Prize.

Additionally, our books are regularly selected as Books of the Year in the British media.


Many of our authors have appeared at national and international literary festivals, including the Edinburgh International Book Festival, Hay Festival and Voewood, to name just a few.

Critical Reception

We publish daring and exciting books — but don't take our word for it:

‘Salt is essential seasoning in the world of British books. A fine, independent list, published with great spirit.’ —Robert McCrum, Associate Editor, the Observer

‘Salt. A vital element in the UK poetry publishing landscape.’ —Simon Armitage

‘Salt is the best poetry publisher of its kind: adventurous, challenging, and original. For the last twelve years the list has gone from strength to strength, adding spice and substance to the poetry-publishing world. Here’s to the next twelve.’ —Sir Andrew Motion

‘We don’t have enough small independent and daring publishers like Salt.’ —Gryff Rhys Jones

Salt books are  reviewed regularly in the national press — including the Guardian, The Herald, The Independent, the Irish Times, The ScotsmanThe Times, the Daily Telegraph and the TLS, as well as in local newspapers, periodicals and journals.

Connecting with Readers

We have a lively social media presence with book readers on Facebook, Goodreads, Google+, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter, where we connect with over 180,000 readers and add 1,000 new followers each month.

We maintain a regular email newsletter for booksellers and readers offering news and gossip, offers and updates on all things Salt. You can join us now in the footer below.

The Book Trade

Through our sales team at Publishers Group (UK), we work extensively with British and international booksellers, both chains and independents, to take our books to the widest possible readerships. We are distributed by Grantham Book Services, part of Penguin Random House Distribution. We hold regular bookshop launches and events throughout the UK.

Discover your local independent bookshop with IndieBound.


Click on the images to download our catalogues for January–June and July–December.

Download our Books In Print catalogue now.

Trade Asssociations

Salt is proud to be a member of both the Publishers Association and the Independent Publishers Guild.


Typography and Production

Salt has a proud history of typographic and design excellence. Our books use a range of classic fonts including John Downer’s Paperback, Jan Tschichold’s Sabon and Gerard Unger's Swift, alongside a new addition for our range of modern fiction, Sergei Egorov’s Neacademia.

Our books are printed to the highest standards using FSC-Certified papers and manufactured in Britain by Clays Ltd and, for print on demand titles, Lightning Source UK Ltd.

Cover Design

Cover design is of considerable importance to Salt and not only do we like our books to be well-edited and to look good on the inside, we like them to look fantastic on the outside. We have worked with a wide range of British cover designers including The Cover Factory, Sacha Davison Lunt, John OakeyDavid Pearson and John Tyrell.


Our aim is quite simple: we find great stories, make them gorgeous and share them with you. You simply can’t have life without a little Salt. Enjoy discovering our books.